SCOLA Travel Journal: Week Twenty-One

Israel is a country we often hear about in the news, but don’t you ever wonder about their side of the story on current events and news topics? Is it different than what our newspapers and TV programs are reporting? You could always visit Israel to find out for yourself, but what if you don’t have the time and resources? No need to worry, I have the perfect solution for you: SCOLA of course! With SCOLA On the Street Videos I can visit over 95 countries, including Israel!

I know that before I start my journey I need to refresh my Hebrew skills so I can communicate with the locals. I head on over to Insta-Class, a quick resource for ready-to-use multi-media language lessons that are produced by language experts around the world exclusively for SCOLA. Practicing my Hebrew with over 420 beginner, intermediate, and advanced language lessons sure beats sitting in a classroom!

PP-IL-Sefat Traveller's SignI’m almost ready for my adventure, but first I get caught up on Israel’s current events with World TV Online. World TV Online broadcasts news and various television programming in Hebrew from Jerusalem on Channel Six, so you can hear news about current events exactly as people living in Israel hear it. Now I have refreshed my Hebrew skills and I am caught up on the news from Israel, I am ready for my adventure!

I log onto On the Street Videos and my first mission in Israel is to do some exploring through Old City streets and Temple Mount. The tour through ancient and historical places was a great first impression of the country that I previously knew little about.

My second stop in Israel is to chat with a local woman about the educational system in Israel. I learn about the common educational experience a person in Israel has, starting at age three and often lasting until the age of thirty if one chooses to attend the university to obtain the highest possible degree. I always find it interesting to see the differences in education in the countries I visit.

My last stop in Israel is to chat with another local woman about her daily life as an artist and mother. She is able to offer a different perspective on life in Israel, as opposed to the life of the student that I discovered earlier.

And with that, my time in Israel is over. It’s time to head back to the real world, and a few seconds later I am back home on my couch. Begin your own adventure to Israel with your free trial on www.scola.org, and be sure to check back soon to join me on my next international journey!

Facebook | Twitter | Pinterest | LinkedIn | Google+ | YouTube

Leave a Reply

