SCOLA Travel Journal: Week Twenty

Have you accessed your free trial to www.scola.org yet? If so, you may have noticed all the material available from Pakistan on Foreign Text! There are over 1,900 newspaper publications and over 30 magazine issues! Wow! I could read this stuff all day, but what better way to learn about Pakistan than experience it myself? I know just the place I need to go to begin my quick adventure to Pakistan, but before I do that I better find out what I am getting myself into with World TV Online!

World TV Online plays international television programming 24 hours a day, 365 days a year. News from Islamabad in Urdu is available every weekday on Channel Six. I quickly discover all the news and current events that I missed when browsing papers and magazines on Foreign Text.

After reading Foreign Text and watching World TV Online, I am ready for my adventure with On the Street Videos! My first adventure in Pakistan is to chat with the Tribal Chief from the remote Balochistan Province. I discover how tribal chiefs in Balochistan are selected and how they govern their territory.

My next stop in Pakistan is to learn about Pakistan’s climate and explore what the weather is typically like this time of year. Where I live the weather has been cold with lots of snow, so if there’s is warmer I might consider taking a trip there for real! Unfortunately, I realize the winter weather in Pakistan is still cold, with snow falling, frozen lakes, and freezing lakes. Looks like I’ll have to choose a different destination to cure my winter blues!

My third and final stop in Pakistan is to talk with the locals about music in Pakistan. The locals and I both agree that music is important because it is a language that is understood throughout the world. In Pakistan, there are many forms and kinds of music, including classical, rock, pop, and more. Everyone has their own choice of what kind of music to listen to and Pakistani singers are famous for their command and understanding of the art of music.

Well, it’s time to head home. I’m back sitting on my couch in no time at all. I’ll be going on my next adventure soon, so don’t forget to log on to www.scola.org and access your free trial so you can join me next time!

Facebook | Twitter | Pinterest | LinkedIn | Google+ | YouTube

Leave a Reply

