SCOLA Travel Journal: Week Nineteen

Have you accessed your free trial on www.scola.org yet? If not, you need to now, because you will definitely want to join me on this next adventure with On the Street Videos! I was scrolling through photos on People and Places and stumbled upon the scenic views of Asia’s second most-populous country, India! I only had to scroll through a few out of the 280 original photos from India to know that was where I wanted to travel next!

I’ll admit, I don’t know a whole lot about India. No worries though, before my adventure I log on to Language Training Materials and check out India’s Country Overview Video. Here I learn about India’s climate (not that it matters because I don’t have to pack a bag!), India’s history, India’s diverse economy, and so much more!

My next step in preparation for my big trip is to learn how to converse with the locals, and with over 975 ready-to-use language lessons straight from India on Insta-Class I am well on my way! I fly through Beginner, Intermediate, and Advanced language lessons in Bengali, Hindi, and Punjabi and soon I am on my way to India!

To begin my adventure I log on to On the Street Videos. After taking in so much information about a country that was so new to me I could really use a little rest and relaxation! It seems my prayers have been answered as I hear about a yoga camp offered by Yoga Guru Arunji. I explore mantras to strengthen my body and soul and discover health benefits of making yoga part of my daily life. The yoga camp gave me the strength and energy I needed to carry on through the rest of my adventure!

During my second stop in India I chat with some locals about the Indian education system. Locals tell me about the differences in education when she was young as compared to today, the busy lives of her children that leave little room for play, and the differences of live in her village and life in the metro city of Mumbai. Thanks to Insta-Class I feel comfortable in my Punjabi skills and am able to fully understand and converse as I experience parts of daily life as a citizen in India.

My time in India is up and I find myself back on my couch where my adventure began. No reason to be sad though, I know another adventure is just around the corner with On the Street Videos!

What are you waiting for? Access your free trial today on www.scola.org!

Facebook | Twitter | Pinterest | LinkedIn | Google+ | YouTube

Leave a Reply

