SCOLA Travel Journal: Week Seventeen

I made it home safe and sound from my visit in Colombia, and I am ready for my next international adventure with On the Street Videos. No jet lag for me! I haven’t been to Africa in a few weeks, so my next stop is Burundi! This journey is going to be a challenge though, since a variety of different languages are spoken in Burundi, including French and Kirundi! Good thing I have Language Lessons under Language Training Materials to help me practice!

Language Lessons are introductory level language lessons and other activities featuring text, videos, quizzes and vocabulary lists are also available. With over 20 lessons straight from Burundi, I am ready to go in no time at all!

PP-BI-House by a FieldI have one more place to visit on SCOLA.org before I start my journey- World TV Online. I check out Channel 5, which plays various programs from Africa 24 hours a day 7 days a week! The programs include news, children’s programs, talk shows, and more. Today I check out the news from Bujumbura to catch up on current events in Burundi. Now I feel prepared for my adventure!

I head on over to On the Street Videos to begin my journey through Africa. My first stop in Burundi is to check out some games local children are playing. Everyone here is speaking Swahili, but that’s okay, I remember enough from my visit to Uganda with On the Street Videos from a few weeks ago.

Next I chat with another local named Irankunda Narcisse. He shows me how he is building a new house. The house construction requires building materials such as bricks, cement, and soil. We explore the construction he has completed so far, and he informs me that at this point the techniques used for construction were local techniques and much improvement is required.

Before leaving Burundi I chat with another local man, Apolosa. We explore the River Kalimbenge where water pollution is the main topic all around. The government has deployed a number of police to guard the water, however many people still perform activities that pollute the water such as cleaning their clothes, motorcycles and cars.

My trip to Burundi was interesting and informative, learning about local construction techniques, and exploring social issues like water pollution. I even had time to throw in some fun with the local children and refresh my Swahili skills! I’d call this trip a great success!

Want to join me on my travels? Visit www.scola.org today and access your free trial!

Facebook | Twitter | Pinterest | LinkedIn | Google+ | YouTube

Leave a Reply

