SCOLA Travel Journal: Week Fifteen

Frohe Weihnachten! This week I am going to visit Germany with On the Street Videos, but you had probably already guessed that from my holiday greeting! SCOLA has over 2,500 authentic resources that include audio, images, text, and video, so I’m easily able to learn all about this new destination before I begin my adventure.

My first task before I begin my adventure is to log on to Insta-Class on www.scola.org and brush up on my German. The service has ready to use lessons in four different skill levels: beginner, intermediate, superior, and advanced. I start a beginner lesson with a video clip taken at a zoo in Germany. I’m able to read the transcript and translation, take a quiz about the clip, study vocabulary, and then discuss the lesson with other Insta-Class users on a forum. I breeze through a couple beginner lessons and make my way up to the advanced level. Once I am feeling confident in my German skills I venture over to another SCOLA service- Spoken Word.

PP-DE-Wooden Nutcrackers Painted as Soldiers is a Traditional Christmas Decoration

Wooden Nutcrackers Painted as Soldiers is a Traditional Christmas Decoration

Spoken Word is an audio and video forum that allows me to bypass time zones and avoid long distance phone charges by chatting with a native speaker from the comfort of my own home! I log on and leave a video message for Marianne, the German native speaker, and receive a response back within 24 hours! Spoken Word is a great tool for help with pronunciation, and it allows you to pick up on nonverbal communication within the culture. With the help of Insta-Class and Marianne I feel prepared to begin my travels with On the Street Videos!

With the Christmas holiday quickly approaching, my first stop in Germany is to learn about how the holiday is celebrated in Germany. I am able to chat with a local woman who shows me some traditional Christmas mangers and explains other holiday decorations.

My second stop is a local sports club in Germany. I am able to chat with the sports club president, and explore the facilities. The president explains to me what different indoor and outdoor areas of the club are used for.

The last stop on my journey with On the Street Videos is to experience professional motor sports in Germany! I am able to talk with different professionals and explore the world of motor sports: different vehicles, the way different parts work, and so much more! I can’t wait to come back to Germany and learn more about this topic, but for now, there is so much more in the world I need to explore!

From a birthday party in Peru to professional motor sports in Germany, I never know where my adventures with On the Street Videos will lead me! Join me in my adventures with your free trial at www.scola.org!

Check back soon to see where my travels take me next!

Facebook | Twitter | Pinterest | LinkedIn | Google+ | YouTube

Leave a Reply

