SCOLA Travel Journal: Week Fourteen

One of the great things about traveling with On the Street Videos is that it allows me to travel safely to places I might not otherwise be able to. For example, this week I am traveling to Syria, a place often featured in the news because of unrest in the country.

Curious about the country’s current state, I first log on to Foreign Text. I’m able to learn about current events and Syria’s culture while browsing recurring newspapers and magazines, and practice my Arabic while leafing through the collection of Syrian books.

I’ve been awfully busy with finals and the end of the school year coming up, but International Radio on SCOLA Mobile Apps allows me to listen to over 300 radio broadcasts from Syria so I can keep learning about my destination while also focusing on schoolwork.

Soon, I am ready to begin my next international adventure! I log on to On the Street Videos to begin my travels to Syria. My first stop is the Syrian border, where I am able to chat with locals, and visit residences in the area. Next, I am able to talk with Syrian refugees and learn what living in Syria was like.

My next stop is to see Syria from a different point of view. I visit an elementary school, where I am able to sit in on an education lesson with students, and see what the education system is like for children living in Syria.

My last stop in Syria is to meet with a young couple and experience what life is like for newlyweds in Syria. The couple tells me at what age people in Syria typically marry, how the engagement and wedding are arranged, and what customs and traditions they have. They tell me about traditions of the old days, then we discuss more modern traditions, the costs of the wedding, and the dowry in Islam. I thank the couple for their time and teaching me about their wonderful country of Syria, and in a matter of seconds I am back home on my couch, finishing homework and studying for finals….

Join me on my adventure by visiting www.scola.org and accessing your free trial!

Facebook | Twitter | Pinterest | LinkedIn | Google+ | YouTube

Leave a Reply

