SCOLA Travel Journal: Week Twelve

The days are flying by as I travel around the world with SCOLA and it’s already time for my next international adventure! I log on to People and Places to try to get a feel about what country I would like to see in person next. I scroll through photos and Mersin Beach, the Cave of Heaven, and snapshots of protestors in Turkey catch my eye.

I first log on to Language Training Materials and take a look at Country Overview Videos from Turkey. Here I learn about where Turkey is located, the languages spoken in Turkey, its economy, and so much more!

I’d love to be able to chat with the locals about the photos of people protesting, so I log on to Insta-Class for some convenient, ready to use language lessons in Turkish. The service has over 450 Turkish lessons in beginner, intermediate, superior, and advanced. I fly through those and I am on my way!

To begin my adventure in Turkey I log on to SCOLA On the Street Videos. I am most curious about the photos of the protestors I stumbled across in People and Places, so my first stop is to visit Taksim Square in Istanbul. Taksim Square was recently the site of many protests, with many people showing up to support the park instead of turning it into a mall. I also learn about a series of protests that occurred last year, in which workers, teachers, doctors, dentists, and engineers all joined in on the strike. They marched around Mersin chanting and holding signs, urging the government to listen.

For my next stop in Turkey, I wanted to learn more about a lighter subject, so I talk to some of the locals about their favorite hobbies. One young girl shows me games she plays on her computer, then I watch a young photographer take shots of young children in a variety of settings.

I was able to see a few different sides of Turkey today, and because of that I consider this trip a success! Join me in my travels today by visiting www.scola.org and accessing your free trial!

Facebook | Twitter | Pinterest | LinkedIn | Google+ | YouTube

Leave a Reply

