SCOLA Travel Journal: Week Ten

Do you follow SCOLA on YouTube? If not, you should! They are always posting awesome videos like Puppet Time With SCOLA, Country of the Month videos, and most recently, scary videos from their new Freaky Friday series! My favorite SCOLA YouTube videos though are the ones from China. I have read before about the great relationship SCOLA has with China Yellow River Television in Taiyuan, Shanxi, and I have always wanted to visit this beautiful country!

It may come as a shock to some that even with all the authentic resources SCOLA has from China on its YouTube page they have even more authentic resources on their website! A quick search for China on www.SCOLA.org brings up almost 6,000 resources!

Usually when I travel with On the Street Videos I like to get a first hand perspective at how the locals live. Whether I am checking out the real estate market in Albania, discussing social issues with locals in the Philippines, or experiencing the daily life of a worker in Afghanistan, I have yet to visit a country and see it from a tourists point of view. Where better to be a tourist than China?

I log on to People and Places and take a look at the Landmark and Landscape category. I start making a list of places I want to visit: the Forbidden City, the Great Wall, Tiananmen Square…the list goes on and on!

Next I log on to SCOLA Learning Objects to brush up on my Chinese. The self-contained language lessons are geared toward independent study, which makes it easy for me to go at my own pace. I am anxious to start my adventure so I fly through the quizzes over comprehension, culture, and language. Just a few lessons on Learning Objects and I feel prepared for my next adventure.

To start my journey I log on to On the Street Videos. My first stop in China is Beijing where the excitement from other tourists almost feels contagious! I snap photos, make people take my picture in front of famous landmarks, and get a little lost…I’m starting to enjoy this!

While in Beijing I stop at one of the first landmarks on my list- Forbidden City. I take a tour of the palace and learn about its history and importance to the Chinese people. After exploring the Forbidden City I am off to the second item on my list- the world famous Great Wall of China. The Great Wall of China looked great in the photos on People and Places, but in real life it is breath taking! I hop in a car on the sky lift and see the Great Wall from above. My last stop before my adventure must come to an end is Tiananmen Square. I tour the square and learn about its history and the famous protests and demonstrations that ended in tragedy in 1989.

My adventure in China must come to an end, but with almost 6,000 authentic Chinese resources on http://www.SCOLA.org you can be sure I’ll be back for a visit.

Check back next week to see where my next adventure takes me!

Facebook | Twitter | Pinterest | LinkedIn | Google+ | YouTube

Leave a Reply

