SCOLA Travel Journal: Week Nine

Early one Friday morning I was watching World TV Online Channel 8 and thinking to myself, what it would be like to live in another country? I have been wondering this a lot lately, with all the traveling I have been doing. I think on my next adventure I will find out what it would be like to live in another country…where would I live? What would I eat?

The program switches from “Watan” out of Turkmenistan to “Tirana Reporting” out of Albania. Albania….now there’s a country you don’t hear a lot about! I think I have found my next destination! I continue watching the program and then watch past shows on www.scola.org to learn more about Albania and its culture.

I watch some news and various other TV programs in Albanian and my excitement for this next journey continues to grow. I log on to On the Street Videos and start my new journey. The first step to figuring out what it would be like living in another country is to discover where I could live. I find a real estate agent and visit her office to find out about the real estate market in Albania. She tells me about an apartment for sale with three bedrooms, two balconies, and plenty of natural light. The apartment is in a prime location, priced per square meter and comes with many amenities such as an entertainment center and a mini bar!

My next order of business on experiencing what it would be like to live in Albania is to figure out what sort of food I would be eating. I meet some locals and learn four new recipes…two of which are cake! What’s not to like? The recipes I learn are for a poppy seed roll with cheese, a recipe for a kifle roll with cheese, and I learn how to prepare a chocolate cake and a no bake plasma cake. It’s a good thing I don’t even have to leave the couch to travel back home because my stomach is too full to move!

Experiencing a few aspects of life in Albania definitely interested me, but I still have so much more of the world to see! So for now, I am going to stay where I am at and continue my international adventure from the comfort of my own home with SCOLA On the Street Videos!

Check back next week to see where my next adventure takes me!

Facebook | Twitter | Pinterest | LinkedIn | Google+ | YouTube

Leave a Reply

