SCOLA Travel Journal: Week Seven

With all of the amazing places I have traveled to lately, I feel pretty well educated in a variety of languages, so instead of first going to People and Places to choose a destination by the way it looks, I log on to Insta-Class to browse the available languages and choose one I haven’t learned. Wow! There are over 360 lessons in Uzbek from Uzbekistan! I think I have found the destination for my next adventure…

Insta-Class lessons are great for independent study and I practice Uzbek with intermediate, superior, and advanced language lessons in a variety of categories like culture, economy, and politics. With great tools like quizzes, vocabulary lists, and forums, I will learn Uzbek in no time!

After lots of practice with Insta-Class I check out World TV Online and Foreign Text to learn about current events in news and entertainment. The services not only catch me up on important events, they also let me practice reading and listening to my most recent learned language. Plus, now not only will I be able to chat with the locals with my practiced Uzbek skills, but I’ll have something to chat with them about!

I don’t have to buy an expensive plane ticket or carry around any bulky luggage, but I am soon on my way to Uzbekistan through On the Street Videos! My first stop was a local school, where I watched a performance of Twelve Months, a dramatic fable about a place where flowers, mushrooms, and berries grow in the winter. There were a few words in the storyline I was unsure of, but with SCOLA’s convenient mobile apps I was able to quickly look up any words and phrases I was confused about.

With all the new and exciting material available on SCOLA, I was still in the mood to learn more, so my next stop was a guitar lesson with SCOLA provider Askar. Where else can you go on an international vacation and learn how to play a music instrument?

All of this learning has worn me out, but it’s nothing a quick lesson in how to make coffee won’t fix. I follow along as a server at a local restaurant teaches me how to make a cup of coffee…now I’ll have enough energy for my next adventure! Check back next week to see where On the Street Videos takes me next!

Facebook | Twitter | Pinterest | LinkedIn | Google+ | YouTube

Leave a Reply

