SCOLA Travel Journal: Week Six

It’s my sixth week traveling the world and you must be wondering…am I tired and homesick yet? No! My adventures have all been through SCOLA On the Street Videos- it allows me to travel around the globe from the comfort of my own home, at my own convenience! On the Street Videos is the perfect solution for people who want to travel the world, experience other cultures, and discover new lifestyles without the negative effects of traveling- homesickness, jet lag, and not enough funds to get you from one place to the next. Plus, you get the added perks of experiencing the world and learning new languages with SCOLA’s other great services like People and Places, Insta-Class, and so much more! Hearing about all the perks of international travel with SCOLA, I know you are wondering where I traveled to after Indonesia.
I was ready to take on a new continent, so my primary search on SCOLA was through People and Places to find a country in Africa! Colorful photos of communities, families, and landscapes in Uganda were the first to catch my eye. I’m excited to begin my journey, but I know my first task must be to learn about Uganda’s native language so I can interact with the locals and navigate with ease around the country.

My next stop before my adventure is Spoken Word. Spoken Word allows me to have convenient conversations with native speakers from around the world! The service allows me to bypass time zones and avoid long distance phone charges by leaving video messages for any of their native speakers. I leave a message for David from Uganda who speaks both Luganda and Swahili! I first send him some private messages because I am unsure about my pronunciation, once I get more confident we have some public conversations so other Spoken Word users can see and respond to our posts. David helps me with my pronunciation, words I need to know, and common mistakes language learners make in Luganda and Swahili.
David has prepared me for my trip, so I excitedly log on to On the Street Videos. My first stop in Uganda is to receive some computer training from a local resident. I figure I may have to brush up on my Swahili while I am here, which I could do with a few quick lessons in Insta-Class! Plus, the computer lessons helped me pick up a few new vocabulary words in Swahili. Once I was done with the computer lessons I felt confident that I could log on to SCOLA.org without any problems if I needed help with Swahili, so I was off to my next adventure in Uganda.

My next stop was to visit a local market. My guide at the local market taught me so much about produce in Uganda, and the products being sold at the market. Hearing about the sellers at the market got me thinking about other work people in Uganda might do, so next I talked with a local man about business, and what was needed to be successful in this country. I also had a discussion with another local man about jobs and employment in Uganda.

My conversations with the locals, my trip to the market, and my computer lessons gave me insight into daily life in Uganda, and social issues that natives face. Uganda was a wonderful destination for my first trip to the large continent of Africa, and I look forward to my return!

For now though, the only thing on my mind is where should I go next? Travel the world with me today when you log on to www.SCOLA.org for your free trial!

Facebook | Twitter | Pinterest | LinkedIn | Google+ | YouTube

Leave a Reply

