Make the World a Better Place to Live

Recently SCOLA provider Jyoti shared with us her thoughts on making the world a better place to live. Here is what she had to say:

Hi, I’m Jyoti Nikam from India. I am a freelance translator for Gujarati and Marathi. I have worked with SCOLA for the last four years and I’m happy to be a part of it. I am putting forward my views briefly about what culture is and why it’s important.

To me culture is human’s knowledge, learning, customs, language, tradition and food habits which are passed from one generation to the next. We live in a world with diverse culture. Tradition, language, dress, art, food, and festivals all form culture. A person is known by his culture, which makes his identity unique.

IMG_2457We should know about our own culture and also should learn about other’s culture as well. Knowing another’s culture will help us respect them and in return we will learn to respect others. In this age of globalization we have to travel to other countries. By knowing their culture we will communicate with them better and respect their culture as well.

For example, I live in India in Maharashtra state, and when I visited Rajasthan state, also in India, I came to know their culture. I learned about their food habits (which is very spicy), their dress, their business, and traditions. So imagine when just in India I had the opportunity to learn the culture of another state, how fascinating it is to know the culture of other countries. This will make people from all over the world come closer and understand each other. This will make the world a more peaceful and better place to live.

I am happy to introduce you to my Indian culture. To start with, I will be sharing with you different Indian Recipes from different parts of India. Also, I will introduce you the different festivals that are celebrated here in India. You can find all of my material on Savoir-Vivre.

SCOLA appreciates Jyoti sharing her thoughts on culture and the material she has shared so far for Savoir-Vivre. When Savoir-Vivre launches you will be able to experience the culture Jyoti has shared with us through the fascinating videos we have received from her.

Leave a Reply

